8 Simple Rules…

by vikkikidd1991

While some people assume that starting a company is too difficult or would prefer to leave the stress of running a business to the boss not everyone thinks this is the most rewarding option and I am one of them. Before starting the module for design and the market I never considered starting my own business or it was something I thought would be way in the future when I was old and wise but after hearing some guest lecturers talk about their experience starting up a business it’s maybe something that isn’t too far out of reach in the not too distant future.

I want to show and influence others with my love of Environmental and Interior design and show it’s not just placing a few scatter cushions, I want them to be inspired to follow their own path… and that’s exactly what I plan to do….

Following a lecture by Iain Lauder, the creative director at RedPath, I have found that to be successful in business I will need to follow these 8 SIMPLE RULES:

GET FASTER

My future clients aren’t going to wait around for me to get the job done, they want the work  fast and the faster the better, they definitely won’t pay me for procrastinating.

BE CURIOUS

Being nosey can be a good thing…being nosey means you learn more!

DON’T APOLOGISE

I often criticise my work before I even hear the tutor’s point of view on the piece, which is stupid since I always work hard and always strive to do my best so why plant negative thoughts in their head before we even begin.

BE FLEXIBLE

Otherwise your client won’t wait around for you to be ready; they will just find someone else with the same skill-set that’s willing to fit them in.

IF YOU DON’T KNOW, DON’T PRETEND

If you don’t know don’t be too ashamed or proud to let your client know, they will respect you more for asking instead of you returning later to ask for a better explanation after you told them you understood!

BE A SPONGE

Absorb everything! The more like sponge-bob you are the better!

ALWAYS HAVE IDEAS

And share them or someone might get in there before you

DON’T GIVE UP

Because nobody likes a quitter…

This lecture was short but sweet however it really brought home what it really takes to succeed, most of it was common sense but sometimes it’s easy to get wrapped up in everything that going on around you that you forget the simple things that can really make a difference.

 

